Kanye’s New Album: 9.9/10

22 Nov

Once in a while, we have no choice but to take off the sarcastic veneer and be real. Today is one of those days.  I’ve had Kanye’s new album for a little while now but now that it’s officially out on the market I figure it’s about time to say something about it.

I love rap.  I love Kanye.  I fucking love this album.

The production quality is excellent.  Guest verses from the likes of Jay-Z, Rick “The Boss” Ross and vocal performances from Rhianna and John Legend (and plenty of others) take this album to a completely new level.  From a rap perspective, I’m not sure if this beats “Graduation” — that’s still my favorite Kanye album.  However, it’s pretty damn close and overall I’d say it’s got a leg up on all of his previous works.

This album feels more enlightened.  It’s not as self-aware as Graduation.  Kanye’s verses take somewhat of a back seat to the music and some of the guest verses — but this mixture is what makes the album so unique.  It’s certainly demonstrative of Kanye’s ability to bring together some of the best artists in the game.  This album just feels far more significant than Graduation or The College Dropout.

I can’t pick a least favorite song and right now but I’m between “Lost in the World” and “So Appalled” for the #1 track.

It’s hard to give an album a 10/10 rating just because you can never know what’s coming in the future.  There might be an unreleased Biggie album out there that none of us know about — or maybe Angelina’s album will be a blockbanger.

We’ll just have to wait and see.  Until then, I’ll be listening to “My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy”

“You’re my devil, you’re my angel/You’re my heaven, you’re my hell/You’re my now, you’re my forever/You’re my freedom, you’re my jail/ You’re my lies, you’re my truth/You’re my war, you’re my truce/You’re my questions, you’re my proof/You’re my stress, and you’re my masseuse”

– Lost In My World (feat. Bon Iver)

6 Responses to “Kanye’s New Album: 9.9/10”

  1. NVR November 23, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

    Just picked it up today for 20 fucking euro’s (lol Amazon $3.99).. After listening to it I would’ve paid at least €50 for this piece of art. 10/10, Best Album 2010/Best Album of the decade/Best Kanye Album/Top3 Hiphop Albums of all time

    • whattherap November 23, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

      I’m with you on this. I got my hands on a pre-release copy a week or two ago and I’m going to go pay for it on iTunes anyway

  2. NVR November 23, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    It would’ve been even more amazing if none of the tracks leaked/were released. So you wouldn’t know what the hell just hit you in the face.. Nicki’s album sounding surprisingly decent, but is overshadowed by kanye BIG TIME. Lloyd who?

    • whattherap November 23, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

      I think we all know who’s going to be putting the most money in the BANK(S) this week…

  3. Anonymous November 28, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    Pitchfork gave the album a 10/10…when pretentious hipsters actually admit to liking something, that’s when you know it’s quality. Kanye is now up there with Radiohead and Wilco. Bravo.

  4. DC November 29, 2010 at 6:42 pm #

    I have mixed feelings about the album. It’s a very interesting album musically, but it’s also, I’m not going to lie, an incredibly self-indulgent(and not in a good way, as all of the magazines seem to think), messy work. It’s incredibly well-produced, and certainly goes places Hip-Hop has never gone before, but that doesn’t make it a good ALBUM. I think that most of these tracks have no real rhyme or reason (no pun intended). A great deal of the songs last way too long, and go in way too many different directions. I mean really, does “So Appalled” actually need to be almost SEVEN MINUTES LONG?! The one track that saves this album is “Monster”, which I honestly have no qualms with. That shit is brilliant! Honestly, I admire Kanye for making the album HE wanted to make, but it still isn’t very good. It’s a chore to listen to the whole album from top to bottom. In my opinion, “College Dropout” was his best album (followed very closely by “Graduation”), and I really wish he would make something more along the lines of that, because that’s the Kanye I know and love. His lines have gotten less clever, his songs have become even more oddly experimental (i.e. DUMBER), and it really seems like he’s more focused on impressive production, and incorporating french horns and cellos and shit, then he is on making actual cohesive rap songs. Fuck, even the songs on “808s” had a point. This ended up being a very long comment, but I just really wanted to respond to your review. Maybe I just should have said “Yo ‘Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy’! I’ma let you finish, but ‘College Dropout’ was the best Kanye record of all time!”

Leave a Reply

