Our Review of Lil Wayne’s Tha Carter IV

25 Aug

Now that what seems to be the true version of Tha Carter IV has leaked all over the internet, it seems appropriate to discuss it.  Everybody and their mother has the album at this point, although I know that man of you are waiting to purchase it on the 29th.  Perhaps after reading this you’ll have a better idea of what to expect. 

First, to address all of the haters who have taken to social media to share their negative opinions on the album before it has even been released: it’s a very good album. Does it have as many classics as C3? Probably not.  However, the album consists mostly of back-t0-back-t0-back solid tracks.  

I don’t think this is Wayne’s best work in terms of lyricism or even production, but as a whole the album comes together nicely.  The features might be what takes it over the top.  “She Will”, which features Drake, and “Mirror” (Bruno Mars) are two of the slower songs on the album but they are both killer tracks.  The songs you’ve already heard (John, How To Love, 6 Foot 7 Foot, and possibly Abortion) at first seem to be a cut above the rest of the new tunes.  However, a second time through, “It’s Good” and “Megaman” started to stand out on their own.  

The album seems to be set up in groups of tunes.  If you haven’t heard it yet, you’ll see what I mean when you start going through it.  “How To Hate” and “How To Love” are cool when juxtaposed.  “Blunt Blowin,” “MegaMan” and “6 Foot 7 Foot” have a braggadocios sound reminiscent of “A Milli” or “I’m Me” from C3.

The “Intro” and “Outro” are not throwaway tracks.  They both bang…very, very hard.  Don’t ignore them.

I can say for sure that this album doesn’t have the back-to-back classic feel that Carter 3 had. It feels to me like it’s harder to pick up on the lyrics in this album and stick them in your brain, but I can’t decide if that’s because they’re more complicated or less catchy.  

Here’s the bottom line: Tha Carter 4 is what you’d normally expect from Wayne.  The lyrics are twisted with metaphors and similes that will make you think.  Others will have you smirking, reminding you of how clever the man behind the microphone is.  Buy the album if you already have the leak. It’s more than good enough to support with your dollar(s). 

“Tunechi you a murderer, boy you just be chillin shit, yeah you know that money talk, I am the ventriloquist/Tranquilizer in the trunk, put your ass to sleep, man, Birdman Jr. got the world in my wingspan.”

Megaman (Track 3)


11 Responses to “Our Review of Lil Wayne’s Tha Carter IV”

  1. NVR August 25, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    Just got through it


    Amazing!! Although the production could’ve been even better (Blunt Blowin, Megaman, 6’7 are a bit repetitive). Also Wayne is mostly rambling random stuff throughout the album, but i guess thats his style now. Sometimes it works, a couple of times it doesn’t. Def not as good as CIII (or it still has to grow on me), but better than I Am Not A Human Being and Rebirth (smh for mentioning). The Bruno Mars cut is fuking dope, thats the kind of epic production and lyrics i missed a little. No I’m not ashamed, Bruno Mars killed it.

    • jeff August 25, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

      can you tell me where you got it, ive downloaded like 4 of them and none of them will play

  2. NVR August 25, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    Scratch that, Blunt Blowin is fucking fire. But what the fuk is up with Shyne’s verse? Who let that shit on there? Someone fucked up, besides Shyne obviously. And oh yeah, Nightmares Of The Bottom is pretty boring, should’ve cut that one.

    • whattherap August 25, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

      Megaman and She Will are my two personal favorites.

  3. jeff August 25, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    can someone give me the link, i cant find it anywhere

  4. buy pagerank 10 blog November 18, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    Thank goodness some bloggers can write. Thanks for this piece.

  5. I Love Weezy`s Everything Keep Rockin January 11, 2012 at 12:25 pm #



  1. Carter 4 Download Leaks Early; Internet Goes H.A.M. « - August 25, 2011

    […] We just got our hands on the early leak of Carter 4 so give us a few minutes. More to come. Doubt we’ll post it here, but trust me you can find it on Google in 10 seconds if you have even half a brain. Once we’ve confirmed that it’s the real deal, we’ll get a review up.  (Update: Here’s our review.) […]

  2. Lil Wayne, “Tha Carter IV” | Cash Money Artists - August 29, 2011

    […] names such as Bun B, Nas, Andre 3000 and Young Money cash cow Drake also appear on the album. The features might be what takes it over the top. “She Will”, which features Drake, and […]

  3. Top 10 Worst Lines from “Tha Carter 4″ « - September 11, 2011

    […] already made my comments about Tha Carter 4 — take them or leave […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: